The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Special for the Sun-Telegraph 

NSAA announces Winter Academic All-State selections


Donna Wiedeburg

Those Sidney students named Academic All-State for the winter seaspn are (from left): Kelsey Franklin, Sarah Krueger, Lucas Rosenbaum, Madi Malzah and Casey Baldwin.

LINCOLN — Eleven Cheyenne County high school students were recognized recently as earning Academic All-State honors for the winter season by the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA).

Sidney, Leyton and Creek Valley high schools were represented on the team.

Those from SHS who were recognized were Madi Malzahn and Sarah Krueger (girls’ basketball), Lucas Rosenbaum (boys’ basketball), and Casey Baldwin and Kelsey Franklin (speech).

Creek Valley students honored were Sam Behrends (boys’ basketball), and Jill Behrends and Summer Mueller (girls’ basketball).

Leyton honorees were A.W. Frerichs (boys’ basketball), and Carly Rushman and Rachael Ernest (girls’ basketball).

Potter-Dix fall activities recipients were Cooper Hicks and Luke Johnson (football); Kenna Smith (play production); and Amanda Maas and Conner Wolff (volleyball).

Since 2006, the NSAA’s awards program — presented in conjunction with the Nebraska Chiropractic Physicians Association (NCPA) — has recognized students who meet the criteria for nomination (individual academic excellence, leadership and significant contributions in their NSAA activity) by their school in the season of their respective activity.

Similar awards are also presented for winter and spring sports by the NSAA/NCPA.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020