The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Three seats On SPNRD Board up for election


Three seats are up for re-election this coming year on the South Platte NRD board of directors.

The terms of James C. Johnson of Dix, Subdistrict 2; Paul Hutchison of Sidney, Subdistrict 4; and Tom Biggs of Sidney, Subdistrict 6 expire on Dec. 31, 2014.

The NRD directors are elected or nomininated within subdistricts in Cheyenne, Kimball and Deuel counties. Subdistrict 2 comprises the northeastern half of Kimball County including northeastern Kimball, and part of western Cheyenne County. Subdistrict 4 is in southwestern Cheyenne County, and the southwestern portion Sidney. Subdistrict 6 is in northeastern Cheyenne County, including northeast Sidney and the town of Gurley.

The NRD board consists of seven directors who meet on the second Tuesday of each month. The directors serve four-year terms, with half of the board seats up for election every two years. Each has one vote on matters before the board.

The deadline for incumbents to file for re-election is Feb. 15. The deadline for non-incumbents is March 1.

A person currently holding any elected office, not just for the NRD, is considered an incumbent for purposes of filing.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018