The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Talking Sports: The elusive title


While researching a story on the 1951 Panhandle B Conference Champion Sidney Maroons football team, I came across a Sidney Telegraph article of that year listing all the previous champions.

The first teams listed were “O.J. Weymouth’s teams in 1926 and 1927.” I have since come to discover that the Scottsbluff Bearcats were the Western Conference Champions of 1926. Not the Sidney Maroons. The 1927 team, however, was a champion of the Western Conference and shared the title with Gering.

I can’t say what happened in the intervening 25 years between 1926 and 1951 that caused the facts...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 12/17/2018 15:32