The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Paul Wess named 2014 County Court Presiding Judge of the 12th Judicial District


Judge Paul Wess has been named County Court Presiding Judge of the 12th Judicial District, comprising Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Grant, Kimball, Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, and Sioux Counties. He was appointed for the year 2014.

The Nebraska Supreme Court approved the nomination of Judge Wess, whose name was submitted by his fellow county court judges for the second consecutive year.

Judge Wess has served on the county court bench in the 12th Judicial District since taking the bench in 2013. He currently serves on the Nebraska Supreme Court’s Technology Committee. Prior to his appointment to the bench, he was in the private practice of law in Chadron for over ten years.

As presiding judge, Wess has primary responsibility for overseeing the delivery of county court services within the 12th Judicial District. Judge Wess will serve as the liaison to other agencies of local and state government, to the Nebraska State Bar Association, and to the media.

Presiding judges also bear the responsibility for the hiring, evaluation, and discipline of county court staff and provide county courts in the district with direction regarding matters of local policy.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018