The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Bill Benson

Four Presidents


January 20, 2021

Four outgoing Presidents have boycotted the incoming President’s inauguration: John Adams, his son John Quincy Adams, Martin Van Buren, and Andrew Johnson.

The second President, John Adams, was first elected in 1796, by defeating Thomas Jefferson 71 electoral votes to 68. Four years later, in 1800, Jefferson won the election by defeating Adams 73 electoral votes to 65.

A bitter Adams refused to attend Jefferson’s inauguration on March 4, 1801.

Four men ran for President in 1824: Andrew Jackson, John Quincy Adams, Henry Clay, and William H. Crawford. Jackson won the popular vote, 153,54...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 03/16/2023 10:22