Author photo

By Forrest Hershberger
Publisher, Sun-Telegraph 

Candidate Filing Underway

First Day of Filing to Run for Office Jan. 5


January 12, 2022 | View PDF

Submitting petitions for public office started January 5 in Nebraska.

The deadline for incumbents is February 15, and March 1 for non-incumbents. The State of Nebraska defines an incumbent as anyone who is currently an elected official and is seeking to return as an elected official of any other board or agency. For example, if a school board member chose seek a seat on the city council, the school board member would be considered an incumbent.

Several local seats are up for election this year.

Seats within the Sidney City Council that are up for election include Roger Gallaway (Mayor), Bob Olsen and Brad Sherman. Gallaway has been on the council since 2012. Olsen has been on the city council since April 2017. He and his family have lived in Sidney for more than 20 years. Sherman is in his fourth year on the city council.

Ron Meyer's seat is up for election on the Sidney Airport Authority Board.

County seats to be decided include clerk Beth Fiegenschuh, assessor Melody Keller, treasurer Shelley Bowlin, clerk of the District Court Debra Hume, sheriff Adam Frerichs, county attorney Paul Schaub, county commissioners Darrell Johnson (Second District) and Philip Sanders (Third District).

All school districts in the county each have three board seats on the ballot: Sidney Board of Education seats currently held by Tom VonSeggern, Brenda Smith and Mike Palmer are also on the ballot this year; Creek Valley School District seats held by Vickie Brown, Rodger Hodges and Doug Mashek; Leyton School District seats held by Ryan Borges, Lisa Carter and Sam Schumacher; Potter-Dix School Board seats held by Joe Nicklas, Keri Mendoza and Linda Shoemaker.

As of Monday morning, the following candidates had filed for candidacy: Beth Fiegenschuh (county clerk), Paul Schaub (county attorney), Adam Frerichs (county sheriff), Melody Keller (county assessor), Mindy Wiegand (clerk of the District Court) and Eli Weyerts (Gurley Village Board of Trustees).


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023