By Jeff Parsons
Columnist - Baseball by the Book 

Chin music


Typically you won’t see a pitcher intentionally throw a ball at the hitter in baseball, but sometimes one tends to wonder when a little “chin music” is applied.

I can understand brushing back the hitter from the plate, but as an umpire and a catcher, I can tell you there is a very fine line when this happens. Keep in mind, this is a book rule, but it is a judgment applied. Experience is always the best teacher and this situation is proof of that.

Let’s get into the rule:

Rule 8.02(d) states as follows:

The pitcher shall not intentionally pitch at the batter. If, in the umpire...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 12/16/2021 18:45