The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Arellano, Robb advance to semifinals at state


Shelly Peckham / For The Sun-Telegraph

Sidney's Derek Robb, right, has ahold of Jacob Pinkerton of Beatrice in Thursday's quarterfinal match in the 152 weight class at the state tournament in Omaha. Both Robb and Trey Arellano (106) advanced to the semifinals.

A pair of Sidney wrestlers are headed to the semifinals of the Class B Nebraska state wrestling tournament in Omaha.

Trey Arellano (106) and Derek Robb (152) advanced to the semifinals of the state tournament, while Kaden Vowers (113) and Cody Hofrock (220) fell to the consolation rounds.

Arellano, a freshman, opened the tournament Thursday morning with a win by fall in 4:44 over Jarrett Cline of Mount Michael Benedictine. He kept his record unbeaten and moved to 44-0 on the season with a win over Chase Larsen of Plattsmouth in the quarterfinals. Arellano topped Larsen in a 7-4 decision.


For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 04/22/2019 02:02