The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

By Don Ogle
Sidney Sun-Telegraph 

Firemen Honor 175 Years Of Service


April 18, 2018

Don Ogle

Honored for their service as volunteer firemen at a banquet Saturday included firemen, from left, James Savage, Dustin DeNovellis, Nick Sutton, Glenn Morrison, Bronson Reece, Mike Butts, James Harmon and Dustin Chaon. Not pictured are Kevin Namuth and Scott Lawson.

Sidney volunteer firemen gathered Saturday evening to honor their own, with awards and recognition going out to 10 firefighters with a cumulative total of 175 years of service to the community.

Fireman Greg Brekel was chosen by his peers as Firefighter of the Year. Three other firefighters were also nominated for the award - Jamie Savage, Bronson Reece and Mike Butts.

Three of those, Loren Rood, Glenn Morrison and James Harmon, each had more than 25 years. Morrison and Harmon received recognition for 35 and 25 years, respectively.

In recognizing Rood, firemen gave the first of two standing ovations when he received his award for 40 years with the department.

A special award, to Roger Jorgensen, also brought firemen to their feet. Jorgensen, who is retiring from the department next month, will have served for 52 years.

Another retirement also came out at the banquet, when Fire Chief Keith Stone announced that he will not be running for the position again. Stone said he is just retiring from the chief's spot, and will remain on the department. When the firemen elect new officers in August, Stone will have served as chief for 32 years. He has been a member of the volunteers for 48 years.

"It has been a wonderful journey," Stone said of his time as chief. "I've made many life long friends."

Stone thanked the firemen for their dedication to the department and the community, closing with "you're only as good as the people behind you, and you have all been great."

Those recognized included:

Nick Sutton and Matt Hines - 5 years; Mike Butts and Dustin DeNovellis - 10 years; Scott Lawson, Dustin Chaon and Kevin Namuth - 15 years; James Harmon - 25 years; Glenn Morrison - 35 years; Loren Rood - 40 years.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019