The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Forrest Hershberger
Publisher Sidney Sun-Telegraph 

Voters to See Busy Ballot


October 7, 2020 | View PDF

Voters will be deciding on several local races, including school boards, the Sidney City Council and a county commissioner seat.

Sidney voters will have two seats and three candidates for city council. Incumbent Joe Arterburn is seeking a return to office, as is Burke Radcliffe. Loren Hoekema has tossed his hat in the ring to unseat one of the incumbents.

The Sidney School District No. 1 School Board has two incumbents and one newcomer on the ballot. Incumbents Brad Kennedy and Kathy Nienhueser are on the ballot, as is challenger Matthew Wallace.

Voters will also see one county commissioner on the ballot. Randal D. Miller, Republican incumbent, is seeking a return to office.

The Sidney Airport Authority has two names on the ballot. The ballot will ask voters to vote for two, with two names on the ballot. However, board member Jim Price has moved from the area since filing his candidacy. The board is hoping for write-in candidates to fill his seat. A write-in affidafit is accepted until 10 days before the election.

The Leyton School District No. 3 School Board election will have one incumbent and five newcomers on the ballot. Kevin Henke is seeking to retain his seat on the board. New on the ballot are Samuel Schumacher, Susan Ernest, Roland Rushman, Earl Reilly and David Wiedeman. Voters will be asked to choose up to three.

Timothy Maas, Royce McConnell, Trustin E. Vrtatko and Bryan Herboldsheimer will be on the Potter-Dix District No. 9 School Board ballot. Maas, McConnell and Herboldsheimer are incumbents.

Voters will have to choose three board seats from four names on the Creek Valley District School Board election. Matthew Kingman and Troy Isenbart are incumbents and Todd Rust and Kevin Jacobs are challengers.

Four Village boards are on the ballot as well. Ronald W. Flohr, Sr., new to the board, is the only name on the Village of Dalton Board of Trustees ballot. Incumbents Lloyd E. Searles and Randall Horst are the only names on the Village of Gurley Board of Trustees ballot. Lodgepole voters will see four names on the Board of Trustees ballot: incumbents R.J. Savely, Jr., and Justin A. Misegadis, and Susan Mitchell and Gwen Devie.

Potter voters will see two names, both incumbents for the Board of Trustees: Melanie Rotert and Edward Revord.

Ballots will also have Steve Erdman seeking a return to the 47th Legislative District, Adrian Smith (Republican incumbent), Mark Elworth, Jr. (Democrat) and Dustin C. Hobbs (Libertarian) seeking the House of Representatives seat, Ben Sasse (Republican incumbent), Chris Janicek (Democrat) and Gene Sladek (Libertarian) seeking the Senatorial seat, and president President Donald J. Trump and Vice-President Michael R. Pence, Joseph R. Biden and Kamala D. Harris (Democrat ticket) and Jo Jorgensen and Jeremy Cohen Libertarian ticket.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 02/04/2023 06:15