The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Forrest Hershberger
Publisher, Sun-Telegraph 

Chamber Honors Businesses, Community Leaders


April 28, 2021 | View PDF

Each year, the Cheyenne County Chamber of Commerce hosts a banquet to recognize businesses and community members for their contributions to the Cheyenne County community throughout the year.

This year's event was held at the Cheyenne County Fairgrounds with the dinner catered by Outlaw Catering. The event started with introductions by Chamber CEO Hope Feeney and Hunter Arterburn of KSID. The opening prayer was done by Chad Rademacher of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, and the National Anthem was sung by Ana Manning of Potter High School.

Chamber Board President Regina Narjes and Arterburn presented the awards.

The first award of the night was the New Business of the Year award. The New Business of the Year award goes to a new business that has had a positive impact on the community in 2020. This year's New Business of the Year award goes to Charlotte & Emerson Boutique. Charlotte & Emerson opened their doors in 2020 within Historic Downtown Sidney with a variety of fashion for women and a corner for athletes.

The Outstanding Customer Service Award goes to Beans and Steams. Beans and Steams was opened by Pat and Sharrell Keen. The coffee house is known for its welcoming atmosphere and friendly baristas.

The Citizen of the Year award was awarded to Steve Mattoon. Mattoon recently stepped down from the Sidney school board, having served 36 years. He has also served 25 years with the Nebraska State Bar Association.

Mattoon said he has no intention of retiring from his law firm at this time.

The Economic Development Project of the Year award was presented to Best Plumbing, Heating and Cooling. Best Plumbing moved to the former Wheatbelt building on Illinois Street and has continued to expand.

The Business Revitalization Award is given to a business that has made considerable improvements or renovations to their business in 2020. This business took a dilapidated eyesore near downtown Sidney and transformed it to a place for visitors and travelers. The recipient of the Business Revitalization Award is the owners of the Sidney Inn.

The Community Impact Award goes to an organization, entity or developer that is instrumental in assisting business and industry development. This year's award goes to Adams Industries. Adams Industries is known for helping businesses thrive and expand.

The E.K. Yanney award is presented in honor of Mr. Yanney who was very involved in the community. This year's recipient of the E.K. Yanney award is the Potter Lions Club. The Potter Lions Club is instrumental in bringing events to the Potter community and Cheyenne County.

The Community Leader Award is presented to an organization, entity or developer who is instrumental in business and industry development in the community. This year's recipient is Matt Monheiser. Monheiser explained how he started working in real estate and assisting companies in Cheyenne County, and of a new company coming to the Sidney area that has signed a contract on buildings in the Industrial Park.

The Edna Anderson Award was presented by Kay Hicks, last year's recipient. Her presentation cited an individual with a lengthy career in local education, and continued to be a community supporter as a Chamber Ambassador. He is also involved in other programs throughout the community, and known for his faithful walk with God, Hicks said. This year's recipient is Brent Jeffers.

The Supporter of the Year Award went to Brand New Items and Coffee Shop, and Jeannette Ford.

“Jeannette has been a driving force for giving in the community,” Feeney said.

Feeney then presented the Ralph Olsen Board Member of the Year award to Regina Narjes. Narjes then presented the Board President's gavel to incoming board president to Brooke DeNovelis. The 2021 board includes Narjes, DeNovelis, Mark Mazour (Farris Engineering), Clint Norman (Security First Bank & Insurance), Kendra Mitchell (The Potter Sundry), Steve Wolff (Wolffpak Realty), Marva Ellwanger (Adams Autos and Equipment), Drew Enevoldsen (Potter State Bank), Laura Narjes (UNL 4-H Extension Office), Chris Sauder (Sauder's Automotive), Emily Thomas (Viper Energy LLC), Molly Highby (Highby Forest Products), Pat Keane (Beans & Steams Coffee House), Rebecca Arellano (Clever Tees), Diadra Eddy (Outlaw Motorsports), Emily Johnson (Sidney Regional Medical Center) and Mandy Sandoval (Viaero Wireless).


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 01/28/2023 22:31