The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Mike Motz
Sports Writer 

Sidney Boys Win Bayard B-C-D


Sidney’s Red Raider Track and Field team continued their strong season, with the boy’s squad winning the Bayard B-C-D Meet on Friday and the girl’s squad placing second. The Sidney boys took first with 155 points followed by Chadron with 122, while the girls placed second with 104 points while Chadron placed first with 129 points.

For the boys, outstanding performances included freshman Isak Doty placing third in the 200 Meters, juniors Treyson Johnstone and Jackson Russell placing first and second in the 400 Meters, juniors Mitch Deer, Cameron Brauer and Treyson Johnstone placing first, second and third in the 800 Meters, junior Daniel Bashtovoi winning the 3200 Meters with a personal best time of 10:23.32, senior Connor Hartler winning the 110 Meter Hurdles and 300 Meter Hurdles, the 4x100 Meter Relay team taking first place, sophomore Jacob Dowse winning the High Jump with junior Sawyer Dickman placing third and sophomore Cameron Leeling placing fourth and also winning the Long Jump.

For the girls, outstanding performances included senior Logan Holly placing third in the 100 Meters, freshman Jenju Peters placing fourth in the 3200 Meters, freshman Chloe Ahrens winning the 100 Meter Hurdles, the 4x100, 4x400 and 4x800 Meter Relay teams placing second in their races, seniors Karly Sylvester and Regan Biesecker placing first and second in the Shot Put, Sylvester winning the Discus and senior Delanie Namuth placing fourth, freshman Karsyn Leeling placing second in the High Jump, sophomore Rheagan Stanley and junior Brynna Ross placing first and second in the Pole Vault.

Varsity - Mens

1. Sidney 155

2. Chadron 122

3. Alliance 89

4. Garden Cty 65

5. Morrill 52

6. Mitchell 41

7. Bridgeport 40

8. Bayard 39

9. Hemingford 24

10. Hay Springs 18

11. Crawford 2

Varsity - Womens

1. Chadron 129

2. Sidney 104

3. Alliance 91

4. Bayard 82

5. Crawford 59

6. Bridgeport 55

7. Hemingford 34

8. Sioux County 30

9. Hay Springs 24

10. Mitchell 17

11. Garden Cty 15

12. Morrill 14


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/15/2022 17:01