The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By William H. Benson



December 22, 2021

The ancient Greeks pointed to as many as 88 constellations spread across a night sky, and then they pinned names to them that they took from their religion of stories and myths.

They wanted to see order in a night sky, because it seemed chaotic, a jumble, pinpoints of light splashed helter-skelter. 

The ancient Greeks gave mythological names to the zodiac’s twelve signs. They include: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, Sagittarius, Capricornus, Aquarius and Pisces. 

The ancient Greeks saw a bull in a certain constellation and called it Taurus, their word for a...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 03/25/2023 23:57