Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Leyton Recall Election Moves Forward

Voters in the Leyton School District will get to decide on two board positions.

In a season that has been at times contentious and other times justified, signatures were submitted to the Cheyenne County Clerk seeking the recall of Board President Suzy Ernest and Board secretary Roland “Rol” Rushman. Ernest and Rushman were elected in the May 2020 election.

In January 2021, board members Anne Rexroth and Galen Bartling resigned from the board. During the Jan. 22 meeting, the 4-member board voted in favor of retaining John Selzer and Simmons Olsen as the school attorney.

The board received five...


Reader Comments(0)