The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Forrest Hershberger
Publisher, Sun-Telegraph 

Five Names, Three Seats

Council Election Advances to General Election in November


Sidney voters will to choose between five candidates for three seats on the Sidney City Council.

The ballot has Paul Strommen, Brad Sherman, Marva P. Ellwanger, Brandon Bondegard and Tony Jones as seeking city council seats.

There are three four-year terms to be decided and one two-year term created with the resignation of Joe Arterburn. City Manager David Scott said recently the deadline to apply for the two-year term is July 15 of this year.

Ellwanger was appointed to fill Arterburn's seat until the November election. She has also chosen to seek voter approval of the seat.

Sherman was first elected to the city council in 2018. He has worked for UPS for 28 years and currently serves as the manager of the UPS operations in Sidney, Scottsbluff and Alliance. He and his family moved to Sidney in 2007.

He served on the United Way of Western Nebraska board from 2009-2017 and is serving on the Volunteer Center Board in Scottsbluff, United Way of Box Butte County Advisory Board and board president of the Sidney chapter of the TeamMates mentoring program.

Bondegard and Jones were asked to share their interests in the Sidney City Council.

Tony Jones:

Name as it appears on the ballot

Tony Jones

Office you are seeking

City Council Member

What is your motivation for seeking this office?

I am motivated to bring positive progress for our community. Being involved and part of something great while making a positive impact with my knowledge and experience. My motivation coincides with my values and morals. Honesty, dedication, and reliability for those in our community, so that our citizens no matter what stage in life have a good quality of life.

What skills or assets do you bring?

I am very detail oriented and require all facts before making any decisions. I feel I am people oriented, a good listener, and open minded. With my work experience and knowledge, I will bring a lot to the table.

Of the office or board you will be serving if elected, are there specific challenges you foresee?

There will always be challenges. I believe for any problem there is a solution that can be found. Keeping open minded, listening to people’s concerns as well as making the best decision is vital.

Share some of your history: how long have you lived in your voting district. Interests, family, education, occupational history.

I’m a graduate of the University of Wyoming and have spent the last 20 years in the people business working in multiple regions of the county. Sidney has been my home since 2006 when my family moved from Lodgepole where I was a teacher and a coach. I am married to a wonderful lady and mother of our 3 children. Our two younger children attended and have since graduated from Sidney. We enjoy traveling to visit our grown children, camping, fishing, hunting, boating, and golfing to name a few.

Name as it appears on the ballot

Brandon Bondegard

Office you are seeking

City Council

What is your motivation for seeking this office?

I want to help Sidney grow with better opportunities for those living in this great town. I want the younger generation to be able to stay/return to this town as well as encourage prospective residents to move here. I would like to see more support of Sidney’s small businesses, more family-oriented activities and community involvement.

What skills or assets do you bring?

I feel I will bring a fresh perspective to the council. I want to make sure Sidney residents’ voices are heard. I am not afraid to challenge others when I feel that a better decision can be made.

Of the office or board you will be serving if elected, are there specific challenges you foresee?

There have been many visions for the future over the years, I think fully executing the visions of the council have been a challenge. I feel there needs to be a re-evaluation those visions into more achievable goals.

Share some of your history: how long have you lived in your voting district. Interests, family, education, occupational history.

I was born and raised in Lodgepole, NE living in Cheyenne County for over 40 years; 11 of those years in Sidney. I have a background in agriculture and farming. The past 10 years I have worked as a grain inspector for Kansas Grain Inspection. My wife and I love this community and want to see a brighter future for all of us.

Marva Ellwanger joined the city council in February by appointment, replacing Joe Arterburn who resigned.

Ellwanger comes to the city council with a lengthy list of community involvement. She has served on the Cheyenne County Chamber Board of Directors (including several sub-committees), Historic Preservation Board, Cheyenne County Visitors Committee, Cheyenne County Historical Association board, Nebraska Historical Foundation Board of Trustees, Sidney Boot Hill Restoration Committee and Sidney Legion Baseball Board. She also took part in the Sidney 150 Sesquicentennial Planning Committee (2017), Sidney Chautauqua Planning Committee (2018), wrote the Travel Stories Sidney Walking Tour for the Historic Preservation Board (2018), Chamber banquet committee for three years, Sidney Boot Hill Cemetery Ghost Tours, Nebraska Economic Development Association (NEDA) Conference in Sidney and has been a speaker for the Cheyenne County Chamber of Commerce Leadership Cheyenne County class.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023