Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Property Tax Explained

Property tax is based on assessed value and tax levies. Almost without exception, a property owner's tax bill includes several taxing districts such as school districts, fire districts, villages and City of Sidney, City Airport Authority, Historical Society, Educational Service Unit 13, WNCC, South Platte Natural Resources District, etc.

In Cheyenne County, a property owner's taxes supports 18 taxing districts. Not all districts apply to every tax payer. It depends on where the property is located.

In Cheyenne County, the largest percentage of a tax bill is attributable to the various sch...


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 02/22/2024 21:46