Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Governor Pillen Issues Disaster Declaration for Panhandle Counties

LINCOLN, NE – Governor Jim Pillen has issued a disaster declaration in the aftermath of a severe storm that resulted in high winds and blizzard conditions on April 6 and 7. The counties included in the declaration are Banner, Cheyenne, Sioux, Garden, Kimball, Morill and Scotts Bluff.

The declaration allows for use of the Governor's Emergency Fund, established under the authority of the Nebraska Emergency Management Act, to address conditions resulting from the storm. Damage to affected counties is estimated to exceed $5.4 million.

Per Neb. Rev. Stat. §81-829.40(3), the Governor is required to sign a State of Emergency Proclamation before the fund is available for use.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 05/29/2024 06:34