By Don Ogle
Sidney Sun-Telegraph 

Community Gets The Nod At Chamber Banquet


February 14, 2018

Don Ogle

Special recognition went to two long-time Sidney residents and supporters during the Chamber Awards Banquet Saturday. Gene Linnemann, left, and Dr. Carl Cornelius received a hearty round of applause for having attended chamber banquets for 60 years.

While the stage was set to mimic the Hollywood Oscars, the Cheyenne County Chamber of Commerce could well have named its Saturday awards program the "Team Awards."

The Chamber annually uses its award banquet to recognize significant contributions to the community by both businesses and individuals. But without exception representatives of business and individuals alike gave credit not only to their own teams, but the Sidney and Cheyenne County community as well.

No matter the category, award winners this year brought forth thanks to groups and individuals who contributed to the success for which they were being recognized.

John Phillips, tabbed for the Ralph Olsen Director of the Year Award said all were strengthened because all worked together in making the area's success a priority. Phillips was honored twice, the first time alongside his wife Kim, with the pair receiving the Edna Anderson Award, given to citizens in the community who dedicate their professional lives to the community, plus have a track record of community service.

Community service was also the earmark of this year's Citizen of the Year, Timm Lindeman, who runs the Table of Grace food pantry. That group provides food to those in need throughout Cheyenne County and the area.

Creekside Vetrinary Hospital was tabbed as the New Business of the Year, and Bomgaars was recognized for its expansion, receiving the Business Revitalization award. Lukjan Metal Products had the Economic Development Project of the Year.

More than 250 people turned out for the awards, which not only recognized the contributions by business leaders, but also showcased local talent. Singing for the appreciative crowd Matt Johnson, LeAnne Kampfe, and Nate Morgan. Also making their contribution was the comedy team of Drew Enevoldsen & Alex Adden.

Special recognition went out to two long-time supporters of the Sidney community, Gene Linnemann and Dr. Carl Cornelius, who have both attended the awards banquet for 60 years.

New Business of the Year

Creekside Animal Hospital

Outstanding Customer Service of the Year

Western Drug

Business Revitalization


Economic Development Project of the year

Lukejan Great Plains

Community Leader Award

Andrew "Sherm" Sherman

E.K. Yanney

Adams Industries

Citizen of the Year

Timm Lindeman

Community Impact Award

Potter Lions Club

Edna Anderson Award

John & Kim Phillips

Heroes Among us

Kings Daughters

Ambassador of the Year

Margaret Linnemann

Ralph Olsen Board Member of the Year

John Phillips

Supporter of the Year

City of Sidney

Tourism Award

Cheyenne County Fair Board


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018