The Sidney Sun-Telegraph - Serving proudly since 1873 as the beautiful Nebraska Panhandle's first newspaper

Author photo

By Forrest Hershberger
Publisher, Sun-Telegraph 

Sidney School Board Reorganizes for 2022


January 19, 2022 | View PDF

The Cheyenne County School District No. 1 Board of Education met Jan. 10 with much of its agenda focused on organizing for the 2022 year.

The board voted Mike Palmer as the new president, and Brenda Smith as the vice-president. Outgoing board president Tom VonSeggern was commended for 16 years on the board and seven to eight years as board president. Board secretary will continue to be Deanna Bond, and Lori Borchert as board treasurer (Palmer abstained from the vote).

The board also approved board committee assignments, and designated official media as the Sidney Sun-Telegraph and News Channel Nebraska. Superintendent Jay Ehler was designated as the official District representative for all local, state and federal programs. The board also approved the follow depositories: General – Platte Valley Bank, Security First and Points West, Payroll – Security First, Petty Cash – Security First, Depreciation and Bond – Points West, and QCPUF – Security First.

The board also approved the resignation of Merry Westman, and the teaching contracts for Addison Weathers and Annie Stahlecker.

In principal reports, High School Principal Chris Arent said the school will be hosting a dual wrestling match with Alliance 6 p.m. Jan. 25 on the stage in the Performing Arts Center.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 02/06/2023 23:17